Excerpts From the Stories I'll Never Write

[5] So-called Love

My phone rang. I didn’t need to check the caller’s ID to know who it was. “What’s this?” he said from the other line.

“I want to talk to her.” I said, trying to choke down my tears.

“Why are you doing this?”

“Just do it.”

“Hello?” said the girl from the other line.

“Please take care of him,” I ended the call.

I stared at them a few meters away from where they’re sitting. After a few minutes, I saw them hugged each other. I stood up and went home and as I lay down in my bed, I think of how happy he is now that he has her back. She’s the one who can make him happy. Not me, it will never be me.

Leave a Reply

