Anime Reviews · International Movies · Movie Reviews

[Movie Review] The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

20060729a1

Synopsis

A high-school girl named Makoto acquires the power to travel back in time, and decides to use it for her own personal benefits. Little does she know that she is affecting the lives of others just as much as she is her own.

Director: Mamoru Hosoda

Writers: Yasutaka Tsutsui (novel), Satoku Okudera (screenplay

Source: http://www.imdb.com

WARNING: May contain some spoilers.

At the beginning of the film, I thought that it was kind of boring because the animation is not that… well, unlike other anime films. But I was wrong. The film became very exciting when Makoto was finally able to travel back in time. All in all, I really liked the film as well as the revelation about Chiaki. But one thing that made me disappointed was the ending. At the ending, when Chiaki is about to go the future time, he said that he’ll be waiting in the future. It was romantic, yes. But how? How?! How the hell will he wait if they’re living in different periods?! Won’t be the other one already dead? So how?! So, yeah. This part made me really frustrated and the ending was really a cliffhanger. But I guess, it was necessary for the movie so I guess it’s fine.

Overall rating: 4.3/5

6 thoughts on “[Movie Review] The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

  1. Wow! I watched this film a month ago, and it was really good, at first I wasn’t really impressed with the animation, but the storyline is really something. The ending, yeah, it was awful, I wanted more from it. You should also watch Only Yesterday, Spirited Away, Grave of the Fireflies and all the other Ghibli films. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally cried my eyes out watching that film, it was so sad, the song made me really weep. Ha ha. Grave of the Fireflies: You should see this one, and The Cat Returns, and oh! I almost forgot, OMG, The Wolf Children, this one, OMG. No words.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Okay! Thank you so much for those movie recommendations. I think I’ll watch it after examinations. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

