Anime Reviews · International Movies · Movie Reviews

[Movie Review] Kimi no Na wa

ec26fc775a78790b1a40e8525d4600431472436104_full

Synopsis

Two strangers find themselves linked in a bizarre way. When a connection forms, will distance be the only thing to keep them apart?

Director: Makoto Shinkai

Writer: Makoto Shinkai

Source: http://www.imdb.com/

WARNING: Major spoilers ahead.

THIS FILM IS TRULY ONE OF THE BEST. From the story line, animation, characters up to the theme songs, everything is just perfect! I actually watched this movie three times and I never got tired of it. I liked how they didn’t reveal anything and just gave subtle hints and let the viewers think of what’s going to happen. I really really loved the part where the meteor was about to fall Itomori because it is when one of the best theme songs, “Sparkle” was played. The part gave me goosebumps. Before watching this movie, my friend spoiled me and said that Mitsuha will die. I refused to believe it that’s why I watched the film right away. There, I found out that Mitsuha didn’t die at all! No one died! I would be really disappointed if someone did, after all this is such a great movie. I also liked the character of Taki because he’s so cute and very charming. He did everything just to see Mitsuha and that was really cool. The part that was very touching in the movie was when Mitsuha fell while running on the road and when she looked at her palm, he saw what Taki wrote before the twilight ended. Instead of his name, it was stated their the words, “I love you!” So much feels! Same thing at the end of the film where they asked each other’s names. It was really a cliffhanger indeed, but I didn’t mind it at all because for me it was very satisfying at how the film ended there, having an open-ending. This is the first anime movie that I’ve become so engrossed about and it was just purely amazing.

Overall rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

