Life

Being An Introvert

Introvert (n.) – a person predominantly concerned with their own thoughts and feelings rather than with external things.

Being an introvert is commonly mistaken as a person who is shy and quiet. But actually, an introvert is a person who prefers to be quiet. Prefers not to talk, not to socialize. Not because we’re shy, but because we don’t like to. End of story.

Being an introvert is never easy. Well, maraming dahilan. But I will cite some reasons.

1. Often mistaken as being masungit

Call it what you want. Masungit, mataray, suplada, maldita. ‘Yan ang mga kadalasang description sa isang introvert. Sa akin. Kasi hindi ako nagsasalita, e. One of my principles in life: “Don’t talk unless you have something to say.” And I don’t have anything to say. That’s why I shut up. But apparently, my silence is being treated as rudeness. Minsan naiinis ako dahil doon but what can I do? ‘Yun ang nasa isip nila. It’s not my fault if that’s what they think of me. It’s none of my business. Masyadong nakakatamad kung magpapaliwag pa ‘ko sa kanila.

2. Prone to the one-million dollar question: “Bakit ang tahimik mo?”

I swear, kung pera lang ang katumbas ng tanong na ‘yan, mayaman na ‘ko sa ngayon. Every time na may nagtatanong sakin niyan, ang sarap lang sabihin na: “Eh ikaw? Bakit ang ingay mo?” I don’t talk because I don’t want to. Tapos. The whole world is all too noisy now para dagdagan ko pa.

3. Palaging may sariling mundo raw.

I like to read kaya siguro may sariling mundo. Para kasi akong nasa ibang dimension kapag nagbabasa kaya mahirap akong kausapin. But I think this is the opposite of me when I’m not reading. Kasi kapag hindi ako nagbabasa, I observe people. Their actions, words they said, reactions. So sinong nasa ibang mundo ngayon?

4. Patay na bata raw.

Actually, I treat this word as an insult. Because patay na bata and introvert are two different words having different meanings. Patay na bata are mostly shy that’s why they don’t talk to other people. Introverts doesn’t talk simply because we don’t want to. Just how hard is that to understand?

5. Always have something on our minds.

I don’t know if this is the same with other introverts but I’m having problems when it comes to emptying my mind. Palaging nag-iisip ang isip ko. Every word, action. Palagi akong napapaisip. I find it annoying lalo na kung gusto ko ng literal na peace of mind. I guess that’s why I’ve become addicted to reading, watching anime and movies kasi doon napupunta ‘yung atensyon ko and there, I can avoid thinking. Minsan kasi nakakapagod na mag-isip. I guess that’s the downside of being an observer? Because you tend to look at almost everything.

I think there’s nothing wrong with being an introvert. You just want to take things at your own pace and nobody has the right to judge you from that. You’re you. Ikaw ‘yan. Hindi naman sila. They can be judgmental as long as they want. Ba’t ano mapapala nila? Wala. Instead of thinking what others think of you, bahala sila sa buhay nila. Walang pakialamanan. Walang basagan ng trip sa kung ano ang personality mo as long as wala kang ginagawang masama. Mind your own life. Not someone else’s.

So that, my friends, is my life as an introvert.

Leave a Reply

