Anime Reviews

[Anime Review] Code Geass

9391l

Synopsis

In the year 2010, the Holy Empire of Britannia is establishing itself as a dominant military nation, starting with the conquest of Japan. Renamed to Area 11 after its swift defeat, Japan has seen significant resistance against these tyrants in an attempt to regain independence.

Lelouch Lamperouge, exiled prince of Britannia, unfortunately finds himself caught in a crossfire between the two nations’ armed forces. He is able to escape, however, thanks to the timely appearance of a mysterious girl named C.C., who bestows upon him Geass, the “Power of Kings.” Realizing the vast potential of his newfound “power of absolute obedience,” Lelouch embarks upon a perilous journey as the masked vigilante known as Zero, leading a merciless onslaught against Britannia in order to get revenge once and for all.

Episodes: 25 (season 1), 25 (season 2)

Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Mecha, Drama

Written by: Ichiro Okouchi & Hiroyuki Yoshino

Source: http://www.myanimelist.net/ & http://www.en.wikipedia.org/

WARNING: Major spoilers ahead.

Code Geass is really one of the best anime I’ve watched. The first time I’ve watched it was on television and I got curious so I decided to continue watching it on the internet. The anime was good as well as the plot. The Geass, the war between Area 11 (Japan) and Britannia and of course, the Knightmares. This is the first Mecha anime that I watched and it was very cool. My favorite Knightmare frames are Lancelot Albion, Shinkiro, Tristan and Morderd. The thing about Geass was so interesting. It made the whole show thrilling and exciting for the viewers. As for the characters, I absolutely love Lelouch Lamperouge, Suzaku Kururugi and C.C. Lelouch being Zero and creating The Order of the Black Knights were the reasons why things became more interesting. Lelouch’s hatred for Britannia was so genuine to the point that he even killed his brother, Clovis. At first glance, the show was all about Lelouch getting his revenge on Britannia. But as the show progresses, it was not all about revenge anymore. It is about friendship, family and love.

I really love Lelouch’s character because he was willing to do anythimg for his sister’s sake. He wanted a perfect, peaceful and beautiful world for her and that is why he became Zero in the first place. You can also see how he became more mature throughout the series. He learned how to sacrifice, even himself for the common good. I think the saddest parts were when he used his Geass to Shirley Fenette in order to make her forget him, when he had no choice but to kill his sister, Euphemia because of the order Lelouch unintenionally gave to her to kill the Japanese and when his brother Rolo died. He clearly loved them that he was willing to endure the sins he and they committed. The final episode of Code Geass brought me to tears. I really didn’t see that coming and as usual, when one of my favorite characters die, I couldn’t get over it. And because I couldn’t got over it, I refused to believe that he really died. That is why I rejoiced when I found out that he didn’t die. Based on an article I saw, there was an uncut version of the endimg scene where C.C. was seen in a carriage and was talking to Lelouch where half of his face was shown. Also, some of the fans’ theory was that when Lelouch’s father, Charles died, he got his Code which made him immortal. As for C.C., I really liked her because of her personality. She looked strong and arrogant on the outside but she really is fragile. I pity her when her past was shown and the Code was given to her forcefully, therefore making her immortal against her will. I never learned her real name.

Initially, I disliked Suzaku because he sold Lelouch off to his father. Though I understand that he wanted to avenge Euphemia, he should know that Lelouch wouldn’t do anything to the ones he love. They had known each other since they were kids and he should know Lelouch better. But im the end, the show really proved to the viewers that Lelouch and Suzaku were still the best of friends because Suzaku understood Lelouch when he wanted to do the plan of Zero Requiem. I also like the characters of Milly Ashford, Rivalz Cardemonde, Nina Einsten, Shirley, Kallen Kozuki and Jeremiah Gottwald, Anya Alstreim and Gino Weinberg. They made the show a bit lighter and comical.

The anime was really great but maybe except for the unnecessary fanservice lol. I read that there would be a season 3 of Code Geass and I’m veryy much excited about it! If there would be a season 3, I wonder what the plot would be since Lelouch already achieved his goal. Still, it would be better if there would be a season 3 to clarify if Lelouch lived or not and personally, I couldn’t get enough of Code Geass.

Overall rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

