Poems

Poem #28: Once Was a Child

Back when I was a child, I always dreamed of you, loving me.

I always dreamed of different kinds of scenarios where each moment is filled with glee.

I dreamed of being with you, with you by my side.

But that was just a dream that has died.

 

Back when I was a child, I always dreamed of you, holding my hand.

That you would be always with me if things go unplanned.

That you would be here to listen to all the things I have to say.

But where are thee when my world was filled with gray?

 

Back when I was a child, I imagine you holding my hand at the altar.

You would hold my hand like a lifeline and letting go of me made you falter.

Your eyes would be filled with tears.

But where are you now after all these years?

 

I used to imagine that I would name my firstborn child to you.

Because I thought that you deserve it after all you’ve been through.

I used to imagine that we would be a happy family.

But no. Because you left me in agony.

 

Now, I’m walking towards the man I love.

With God as a witness from above.

As tears began to flow from my eyes, I said goodbye to the question I always pry.

“Dad, where are you when I let out my first cry?

3 thoughts on “Poem #28: Once Was a Child

Leave a Reply

